Pamplona

It’s after midnight

Pamplona greets us with open arms

Streets typically empty and silent

Not tonight

Celebration’s prelude of tomorrow’s chase

 

Sangria overflowing

I’m floating inside my glass

Swimming not drowning

But drowning in this glass may not be such an unpleasant thought

At least, just for tonight

 

Handshakes, hugs, more filled glasses

A feeling this will never end

Smiles from street to street

Greet to greet

I wonder if the bulls also have smiles on their faces right now

 

Dawn will awake

Sometime soon or off in the distance

I can’t tell

But at that time

I will see if my courage is there

To run through the streets

The chase of a lifetime

Or if not

Watch from the sidelines

With regret nipping at my heels

 

Originally posted August 1, 2015

5 thoughts on “Pamplona

      1. I think you chose wisely. 🙂 I’m fond of poems such as this one where there’s a sense of danger and mystery, because the ending certainly leaves the reader with a sense of wanting….did he run or not? Anyway, thank the sangria!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

