Today Not a Day of Voices

Soft blades of grass

Pillowed beneath my head

My hand shields the sun from my eyes

Rays soak through the cracks between my fingers

Making me squint just a bit

No breeze to be found

The thick heat, frozen in the air

Unable to move, it waits and stares

It has all the time in the world

To sit and keep me company

It’s quiet, almost too quiet

Even if I were miles away

The sound of stillness would be the same

At least it would be on this day, today

I remain silent

Even if I wanted to speak

My lips would move

But no sound would emerge

Because today is not a day of voices, not today

There will be plenty of tomorrows to be heard

Instead I float, suspended in time

Living in just this moment while it lasts

 
*Originally posted August 15, 2015

15 thoughts on “Today Not a Day of Voices

  1. mindfulness. i’ve been learning the art of living in this moment while it lasts. being aware. allowing my senses to be my focus. incredibly calming to my hyperactive uneasiness. thanks for this. it’s a beautiful moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on finding rachel's way and commented:
    if i wanted to feel better today…i would meditate on this. i would do my own mindfulness exercise. but i don’t want to feel better. today, i want to wallow in it…like a crocodile.

    Like

  3. Living in the city, it’s almost impossible to experience silence that when it happens, it’s eerie. Your poems have a melodic quality and a calming lull….almost hypnotic. It pulls the pulls me in, and the city noises around me fade away. Wonderful🌷

    Like

  4. Living in the city, it’s almost impossible to experience silence that when it happens, it’s eerie. Your poems have a melodic quality and a calming lull….almost hypnotic. It pulls me in, and the city noises around me fade away. Wonderful🌷

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more. I think life can get so busy that it’s easy for those silent moments to pass us by, without us even noticing them. We have to take the time to be aware of these moments and take advantage of them when we can…

      Like

Leave a Reply

